Wesley Holds Annual Athletics Awards Ceremony

Wesley Holds Annual Athletics Awards Ceremony

Photo Gallery

DOVER, Del. – David Langan of the men's basketball team was named the Wesley College Male Athlete of the Year while field hockey's Madison Leone received the Female Athlete of the Year honors, it was announced at the Annual All-Athletics Award Ceremony held at the Wesley Chapel on Wednesday night.

Wesley College also honored Karen Wearden of the women's basketball team and football's Ben Barile as recipients of the Shirley Wentworth Award.  The Wentworth Award is named in honor of Shirley Wentworth, the late wife of the legendary former Wolverine men's basketball coach, Jim Wentworth. Shirley's spirit lives on through this award representing outstanding sportsmanship, work ethic, character, courage and commitment.

Marie Keller, the mother of former Wolverine field hockey player Dana Keller, was awarded the Pat Knight Award. The Pat Knight Award is named in honor of local sports legend, Pat Knight, who for years served as Wesley College's Sports Information Director. The non-annual award honors an individual who gives their time to support and enhance the Wesley College Athletic experience.

Langan led the Wolverines to its finest season in its history with it's first-ever NCAA Tournament victory, a program-record 23-4 overall record, a Capital Athletic Conference regular season title and a 12-game winning streak.  A native of Sayreville, N.J., Langan was named an All-American by several publications and also earned CAC Player of the Year honors.  Standing six-foot-eight, Langan became the 12th Wolverine to score at least 1,000 career points and holds the school-record for career rebounds.

Earning Female Athlete of the Year honors for the second-straight season, Leone is one of the top players to ever don the Navy & White.  Earning CAC Player of the Year and All-America honors for the second-straight year, Leone ranks second in Wesley College history in goals (71), assists (30) and points (172), all of which are in the top five in CAC history. Leone also played in the Front Rush/NFHCA Division III Senior Game in late November.

In addition to the major awards, all senior student-athletes and Most Valuable Players were honored.

Major Awards
Male Athlete of the Year: David Langan (men's basketball)
Female Athlete of the Year: Madison Leone (field hockey)
Shirley Wentworth Award: Ben Barile (football) & Karen Wearden (women's basketball)
Pat Knight Award: Marie Keller

Most Valuable Players
Baseball: Zach Stuart
Men's Cross Country: Kevin Clements
Women's Cross Country: Dieunise Desir
Men's Basketball: David Langan
Women's Basketball: Brionna Johnson
Field Hockey: Madison Leone
Football: Sosthene Kapepula
Golf: Dylan Chessher
Men's Lacrosse: Eric Bohns
Women's Lacrosse: Jorden Lutz
Men's Soccer: Mark Mattern
Softball: Nina Marcano
Men's Track & Field: Carlton Sheppard (indoor)
Women's Track & Field: Kiona Mency (indoor), Elizsha Streeter (outdoor)
Volleyball: Meghan Marshall